Book Reviews - Courtney

(Arc) The Color Project by Sierra Abrams (Spoilers)

Title – The Color Project

Author – Sierra Abrahams

Goodreads Rating – 4.5

My Rating – 518519357_10154420238556922_1041697169_o

Synopsis

22892448Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.
Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.
When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.
For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

My Thoughts 

This book is so good, I adore this book and wish I could give a copy to everyone. If you love a cheesy romance, then pick this book up. I found myself laughing at moments and crying at others. I could go on and on why I love this book, but I’ll list some reasons.

  • Bee a girl with anxiety I can relate too. She is constantly going, “Why Did I Say that?!?!”  She is such a great character, who doesn’t quite know how to be open with Levi. She is constantly thinking she isn’t doing enough for him, not like he does for her. She is her own little bundle of anxiety, that I can relate too.
  • Levi, Levi, Levi. Boys take notes haha. Levi is a nineteen-year-old who lives with his divorced mother. His fathers a jackass and Levi wants nothing to do with him. Levi is a cheesy romantic to me, he is always there for Bee. He is absolutely adorable. Levi puts everyone ahead of himself. He is an adorable guy.
  • Gretchen, everyone needs a friend like Gretchen. Gretchen is me completely, a genuine sarcastic great friend.  She is literally a friend everyone needs. She is honest with Bee and is a true friend.
  • Bee and Levi are slowly building their romance, they never rushed into anything.
  • The Color Project, I love how Levi has a place people can come to when they are in trouble and need help, whether is doctor bills, food, anything. I wish something like this existed in the real world.
  • How the tone of the book changes when you find out about Bee’s dad having brain cancer. You see her break up with Levi shortly after because she doesn’t know how to handle both of these things in her life right now.
  • You see how they come back together and make their relationship work, instead of just giving up and walking away.

This book is now one of my favorites. I will be recommending this novel to everyone. It has love, friendship, tragedy, and shows if you truly care about someone, you will do what it takes. I can quite put it into words, but this book is just amazing. I don’t typically get into books like this, but I just ended up flying through it and loving every minute of it.

Here are two of the funniest spots in the book.

  • “I see Tom and Michael going into tiny Moments or stars if you will. I see Tom and Michael, going into the dark water in nothing but their underwear. (I’d rather stab myself in the eye with a hot poker than see their soggy asses again.)
  • ” I wasn’t even here,” she says with an air of mystery. “I’m a Ninja” Then I watch as she pushes off the door, turns around and runs smack into the door frame. I burst out into a cackling laugh. “See? I’m so ninja that the wall didn’t even see it coming.”

 

Release Date – July 18th

You can Preorder Here

20107259_10154590041166922_2144746422_o

 

Advertisements

One thought on “(Arc) The Color Project by Sierra Abrams (Spoilers)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s