Book Reviews - Courtney

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Synopsis 

23299512There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

My Thoughts

Let me tell you this is my first Victoria Schwab Book and I now want all her books. I was hooked from the start. I do admit there were moments I wanted to put the book down throughout reading the first half, but once I got to the second half I fell in love with the writing and the story.

You have two MC Kate and August. Now in this world when a horrible act is committed a monster is born from that act, whether it be murder, thieving, a cult killing, etc. You have August who was born from a horrible act, he is Sunai and his father controls the South City.  He can play a beautiful song and take the souls of sinners. Now you have Kate a human, whose father controls the North City. Kate’s mother died in a car accident when her mother and she were trying to escape the city. Kate can not fully remember what happened that night.

In the first few chapters, you get the layout of the city. August is from the South City. Kate is from the North City. They have a truce that keeps the monsters at bay and stops the bloodshed in the city, but that truce is crumbling. The monsters are rebelling and the humans can not keep them under control in the North City. The South tried to keep the monsters at bay and keep them out.

August has been in the compound since he came from the act, he has never left.  August finally gets his wish to attend Colton in North City, this is where he meets Kate and the two became friends. You see them go through turmoil with each other, soon they can only depend on each other to get through the city and try to get to safety. You watch them find out the true problems within the city and who is behind all the fighting.

You can never predict where the story is going. When you think you have it Schwab writes in a twist. The writing, plot, characters, are all amazing and so well written. I can not wait to dig into the sequel and see what happens. I am looking forward to picking up a few more of Schwab’s novels and digging into them.

Have you read any of Victoria’s books? What did you think of them?

You can purchase this novel Here

PicMonkey Sample

Stock-Image-Separator-GraphicsFairy21

18519357_10154420238556922_1041697169_o

Advertisements

15 thoughts on “This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

  1. I’ve got to chapter eight of This Savage Song so far – like you, the first Schwab book (if you discount how I abandoned Vicious, as this one has grasped my attention much more) – and I’m enjoying it so far. Can’t wait to see how it progresses!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s